Bay of Hope

0.0 0 5 Schrijver: David Ward
Binnenkort als e-book 2018-04-17.
A come from away exploring love, loneliness, and adventure in remote Newfoundland. Part memoir, part nature writing, part love story, Bay of Hope is an occasionally comical, often adversarial, and always emotional story about the five years ecologist David Ward lived in an isolated Newfoundland community; of how he ended up there, worked, survived the elements, and coped with loneliness and a lack of intimacy. But this book is also a story about Davids 78 McCallum, Newfoundland, neighbors, the unforgiving mountain and wilderness culture they call home, and why their government wishes they were dead. Creative nonfiction written in the tradition of Farley Mowats Bay of Spirits, Wards memoir is also evocative of Michael Crummeys poignant novel Sweetland and Annie Dillards Pulitzer Prizewinning Pilgrim at Tinker Creek. A book about how great adventure tales do not always have to include dramatic, never-attempted, death-defying feats, Bay of Hope shows us that a person can travel a million miles over the treacherous terrain within their hearts, as long as theyre courageous enough to make such an arduous trek.
Taal: Engels Categorie: Biografieën

Meer info over het e-book:

Uitgeverij: ECW Press

Altijd een goed boek bij je – luister waar en wanneer je wilt

Luister naar zoveel boeken als je maar wilt! Bewaar onbeperkt boeken offline zodat je ook zonder internet kunt luisteren. Probeer eens die nieuwe thriller en als die niet bevalt, probeer gewoon een ander boek! Met Storytel heb je altijd duizenden verhalen bij je.
Maak hier je account aan